Former Edition Zeitschrift für Naturforschung (1946-2014)


The Zeitschrift für Naturforschung was founded 1946 in the Institutes of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft by Hans Friedrich-Freksa (23.2.1906-2.10.1973) and Alfred Klemm (15.2.1913-23.2.2013) together with Ludwig Waldmann (8.6.1913-9.2.1980) under the licence No. 20 of the American post world war II government in Germany. The publisher was the Dieterich'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, Wiesbaden (now Mainz).

In 1948 a separate publishing house, the Verlag der Zeitschrift für Naturforschung, was founded in Tübingen. In 1950 a branch office was established in Mainz.

Zeitschrift für Naturforschung was conceived as a publication forum for papers covering the entire spectrum of scientific research, with focus on Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and explicitly open for interdisciplinary work. In 1947, the journal was split into Section A: Physics, and Section B: Chemistry and Biology. In 1973 Section C was established, covering the biosciences, while Section B concentrated on chemistry.

Archive 1946-2014


Verlag der Zeitschrift für Naturforschung
Beuthener Str. 17, D-55131 Mainz
Phone: +49 6131 573276
Fax: +49 6131 571061

Verlag der Zeitschrift für Naturforschung
Tamina Greifeld
Connollystraße 20, D-80809 München
Phone: +49 89 3541485
E-mail: greifeld AT